Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

C7 Football – 2015 Season Wrap Up


2015 Season Wrap Up

C7 Football for 2015 has finished with many highlights throughout the season.

It was fantastic to have the support once again from the four SAAFL clubs: Goodwood Saints, Kenilworth, Kilburn and Salisbury.

Player numbers increased significantly this year which allowed matches to be played in a 15-a-side format (previously 9 or 12-a-side). Hopefully this trend will continue and allow another club to enter the competition. This will not only give more people an opportunity to play football but will assist in making a better competition between the new and existing clubs.

A preseason ‘come and try style’ event, run in conjunction with the SANFL, saw over 40 keen footballers take to Adelaide Airport Stadium to learn new skills and test their ability. It was promising to see around half of the participants were under the age of 14. This event allowed them to see that there is always a pathway to continue their football journey.


footy ladder 2015The season kicked off with the 2014 Grand Final replay between Kilburn and Salisbury under lights at the Kilburn Football Club. Salisbury were unable to turn the tables from 2014 with Kilburn running out winners by 27 points.

For all of the C7 Football results throughout the season, please visit:

At the end of the minor round Kilburn kept up their dominance by finishing on top of the ladder and undefeated for the season. Salisbury had a competitive season with their only losses coming at the hands of Kilburn. At the other end of the table, Kenilworth were unable to breakthrough for a win, however they had some close matches and only lost to Goodwood Saints by 1 point in Round 4.


Results in the semi finals went as expected with Kilburn too strong for Salisbury and they earned their place in another Grand Final. Goodwood Saints had a convincing win over Kenilworth to set them up for a preliminary final showdown with Salisbury.

The preliminary final went the way of Salisbury who defeated Goodwood Saints by 56 points.


The two dominant teams for 2015 met at Adelaide Airport Stadium with perfect conditions for football. Kilburn kicked away to lead at quarter time before a huge turnaround by Salisbury in the second quarter, in which they kept Kilburn scoreless, and led at the main break.

In the second half, Kilburn put the foot down and got themselves back in front, kicking two goals to none. In the final term, Salisbury pegged Kilburn back to within a goal with only a few minutes left in the match, however a determined Kilburn side held on for a 10 point victory.GF resultkilburn GF


Marie Little OAM Medal Winners: Shane Smith (left) and Christopher McQueen

Marie Little OAM Medal Winners: Shane Smith (left) and Christopher McQueen

The annual presentation night was held in the Function Room at Adelaide Airport Stadium on Friday 28th August. Here is a list of all the award winners from the night: 2015 Premiers – Kilburn Football Club Marie Little OAM Medal (Best and Fairest) – Shane Smith (Salisbury) and Christopher McQueen (Kilburn) Leading Goal Kicker – Sean Flintoff (Kilburn) and Christopher McQueen (Kilburn) Brian Prestwood Medal (Grand Final Best on Ground) – Aron Baker (Kilburn) Alan Statton OAM Medal (Most Improved) – Richard Chandler (Kenilworth)


Thank you to everyone who made this year a success. Inclusive Sport SA, in conjunction with SAAFL, will continue to build the competition into 2016 and give even more players the opportunity to play footy!